Architecture scholarships

You’ve got big plans for your future. A scholarship from the Connecticut Architects Foundation can help you reach them. Every year, CAF awards thousands of dollars in architecture scholarships to architecture students in NAAB-accredited undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

Since 1986 the Foundation has awarded over $600,000 in scholarships.

In 2020, seven deserving students received scholarships from one of three Scholarship Funds – The Charles DuBose Memorial Scholarship, The Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship, or the Connecticut Architecture Foundation Scholarship.

Charles DuBose Memorial  Scholarship

Students who have completed two years in accredited undergraduate architectural programs or have been accepted into an accredited graduate program are eligible to apply for this scholarship. Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply. Preference will be given to students at the University of Pennsylvania, Georgia Institute of Technology, and the Fontainebleau summer program.

The Charles DuBose Scholarship Fund was established in 1986 by DuBose Associates, Inc. of Hartford, Connecticut in memory of Charles DuBose, FAIA. Ruth DuBose, Widow of Mr. Charles DuBose, has contributed substantially to the scholarship fund. Charles DuBose, Founder and Chairman of DuBose Associates, Inc. Architects, was most noted for his design of Constitution Plaza in Hartford. It was acclaimed in the 1960’s as one of the first urban developments to effectively separate pedestrian movement from vehicular traffic with a series of raised landscaped terraces.

Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship

In 1997, the Sheng family established a memorial scholarship fund in memory of Suzanne Sheng who was a Connecticut architect working with James Lawler, FAIA at the time of her death. The first scholarship award from the fund was in 2002. The fund is be used solely for scholarships for students of architecture, giving preference to students in architectural degree programs at Cornell University. While students who are Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply, the fund is open to any student who has completed two years of study in an accredited undergraduate architectural program or who has been accepted into an accredited graduate architectural program.


In order to be considered for a Charles DuBose Memorial Scholarship, or Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship or a Connecticut Architecture Foundation Scholarship:

  • Applicant must 1) be a current or long-time resident of Connecticut, 2) be employed at a Connecticut architectural firm, or 3) plan to attend a Connecticut-accredited college for Architecture.
  • Applicant must be attending college on a full-time basis.
  • Applicant must satisfy one of the following:
    • Have completed at least two years in a NAAB accredited Architectural Program leading to a B-ARCH degree by June 30, 2022
    • Be currently enrolled in non-accredited undergraduate program and have been accepted to a NAAB accredited Masters Program (M-ARCH).
    • Be a student in an NAAB accredited Masters Programs.

How to Apply for the DuBose, Sheng or CAF Scholarships

Allan Dehar Memorial Scholarship

The Allan Dehar Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 2020 in memory of Allan Dehar, FAIA. Beginning with humble roots attending trade school followed by attending night school, his work experience included the offices of Eero Saarinen & Associates and Minoru Yamasaki & Associates. He founded his firm, Allan Dehar Associates in New Haven designing significant projects with an emphasis on higher education. His contributions to the profession included serving on the Connecticut Architectural Licensing Board and the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, mentoring high school students through the ACE Mentor Program, and speaking to vocational classes about a career in architecture.


Students who are presently enrolled in an architectural program at a Connecticut community college are eligible to apply for this scholarship. In response to the reality that there are multiple pathways for obtaining an architectural education, this scholarship provides an opportunity to assist and to encourage students who are interested in pursuing a career in architecture. Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply.

  • A student currently enrolled in an architectural program at a Connecticut community college but has been accepted to an architecture program at a college or university.
  • Full-time and part-time students will be
  • The applicant must demonstrate some connection to the State of Connecticut (residence, school, work, etc.).

This scholarship is granted to students with the goal of furthering the mission of the Connecticut Architecture Foundation: to raise public awareness and expectations of architecture and the built environment. Long-range plans include eventually extending the Allan Dehar Memorial Scholarship to students attending the Connecticut Vocational/Technical School system. Note that applying for this scholarship does not limit an applicant from applying to any future CAF scholarships.

How to Apply for the Dehar Scholarship

2022 Scholarship Recipients: