The Foundation works by funding educational programs and opportunities, providing grants for research and awarding scholarships to promising students pursuing an education in architecture. All funds come from donations and bequests from individuals and firms.

The Foundation was established in 1978 by the Connecticut Society of Architects (Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects) as an independent organization to raise and distribute funds. Over the last forty (plus) years close to $600,000 in scholarships have been awarded to recipients. All recipients have a connection to Connecticut, which is required. The number of scholarships and the dollar value have increased over the years.

The CAF has had a long-standing relationship with the Architecture Resource Center from the time of its founding as a ‘K-12 Education In Architecture’ program in 1991. Additionally, the Foundation participates in the Connecticut Science Fair, awarding monetary prizes to projects related to buildings and the environment.


2021 Officers
Stephanie Degen-Monroe, AIA           Robert E. Swain, Jr., AIA         Nancy Clayton, AIA                 John P. Franzen, FAIA
         President                                             Vice President                      Secretary                                      Treasurer

Jay M. Brotman, AIA
     Past President 


Randall Anway, AIA Lauren Braren, AIA Angela Cahill, AIA
Tanya Cutolo, AIA Michael J. Crosbie, FAIA George Fellner, AIA
Robert Golde, FASLA Elizabeth (Tina) Greco, AIA Thomas McC. Haskell, AIA
George McGoldrick, AIA Peter J. Newman, Associate AIA Ilona Prosol, P.E. LEED AP BD+C
Arthur L. Sanders, AIA Kermit Thompson, FAIA Emeritus