Current Memorial Scholarships

Charles DuBose Memorial  Scholarship

The Charles DuBose Scholarship Fund was established in 1986 by DuBose Associates, Inc. of Hartford, Connecticut in memory of Charles DuBose, FAIA.  Ruth DuBose, widow of Mr. Charles DuBose, has contributed substantially to the scholarship fund. Charles DuBose, Founder and Chairman of DuBose Associates, Inc. Architects, was most noted for his design of Constitution Plaza in Hartford. It was acclaimed in the 1960’s as one of the first urban developments to effectively separate pedestrian movement from vehicular traffic with a series of raised landscaped terraces. Students who have completed two years in accredited undergraduate architectural programs or have been accepted into an accredited graduate program are eligible to apply for this scholarship. Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply. Preference will be given to students at the University of Pennsylvania, Georgia Institute of Technology, and the Fontainebleau summer program.

Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship

In 1997, the Sheng family established a memorial scholarship fund in memory of Suzanne Sheng who was a Connecticut architect working with C. James Lawler, FAIA at the time of her death. The first scholarship award from the fund was in 2002. The fund is be used solely for scholarships for students of architecture, giving preference to students in architectural degree programs at Cornell University. While students who are Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply, the fund is open to any student who has completed two years of study in an accredited undergraduate architectural program or who has been accepted into an accredited graduate architectural program.

The Allan Dehar Memorial Scholarship 

In 2020, the creation of a new scholarship fund was established in honor of Allan J. Dehar, FAIA. Allan was a prominent Connecticut architect with a practice in New Haven. From humble beginnings in Dearborn, Michigan, he attended a local trade school for drafting and then Lawrence Technological University. After working for Minoru Yamasaki in Michigan, he moved with Eero Saarinen & Associates to New Haven, where he worked on the TWA Terminal at Idlewild (now Kennedy) Airport in New York City and the St. Louis Arch. His eponymous firm, Allan Dehar Associates, was responsible for numerous award-winning projects throughout New England. For many years, Allan served as the Chair of the Connecticut Architectural Licensing Board. In addition, he was a regional Director for the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB). For service to the profession, he was elevated to the AIA College of Fellows. Allan was a generous supporter of the architectural profession and, more specifically, the Connecticut Architecture Foundation.

The Dehar Scholarship Fund will focus on students from the Connecticut Vocational/Technical School system and accredited architectural programs at Connecticut Community Colleges. The Fund recognizes the need to encourage and support architectural students from all walks of life.

Contributions to the Dehar Scholarship Fund can be directed to:

Allan Dehar Memorial Scholarship Fund
c/o AIA Connecticut
370 James Street, Suite 402
New Haven, CT 06513